Graduate Student Committee

The Religious Studies Graduate Student Committee (GSC) represents graduate student interests within the department by serving as a bridge between the faculty and the student body. It facilitates graduate student input in departmental life and provides opportunities for graduate students to meet and greet, share ideas and concerns, and make the most of their academic, social, and professional life here at Yale. All graduate students are eligible to serve on the GSC, following an annual election, and there is no limit to the number of members.

Each year, the GSC will organize professionalization and social programming, such as SBL/AAR practice sessions, CV/cover letter workshops, mock job talks, lunches, happy hours, and game nights. The GSC will also connect the student body with deparmental decision-making, by soliciting student views and arranging for student representation in departmental processes. Graduate students with questions about the GSC or departmental life should check out the noticeboard in the lobby of 451 College Street, or reach out to the GSC members, listed below.

Dexter Brown (New Testament): dexter.brown@yale.edu

Danny Eastman (Ancient Christianity): daniel.eastman@yale.edu

Justin Hawkins (Religious Ethics): justin.hawkins@yale.edu

Sara Misgen (Theology): sara.misgen@yale.edu

Cody Musselman (American Religious History):  cody.musselman@yale.edu

Beth Price (Islamic Studies): elizabeth.price@yale.edu 

Dominique Sirgy (Islamic Studies): dominique.sirgy@yale.edu

Zachary Smith (New Testament): zachary.smith@yale.edu

Lewis West (American Religious History): lewis.west@yale.edu