Graduate Student Committee

The Religious Studies Graduate Student Committee (GSC) represents graduate student interests within the department by serving as a bridge between the faculty and the student body. It facilitates graduate student input in departmental life and provides opportunities for graduate students to meet and greet, share ideas and concerns, and make the most of their academic, social, and professional life here at Yale. All graduate students are eligible to serve on the GSC, following an annual election, and there is no limit to the number of members.

Each year, the GSC will organize professionalization and social programming, such as SBL/AAR practice sessions, CV/cover letter workshops, mock job talks, lunches, happy hours, and game nights. The GSC will also connect the student body with deparmental decision-making, by soliciting student views and arranging for student representation in departmental processes. Graduate students with questions about the GSC or departmental life should check out the noticeboard in common areas of 320 York Street, or reach out to the GSC members, listed below.

Iman AbdoulKarim (Religion & Modernity / Islamic Studies): iman.abdoulkarim@yale.edu

Tatyana Castillo-Ramos (American Religious History / Religion & Modernity): tatyana.castillo-ramos@yale.edu

Katherine Gurrero (Religion & Modernity / Theology): katherine.guerro@yale.edukatherine.guerro@yale.edu

Samaah Jaffer (Religion & Modernity / Islamic Studies): samaah.jaffer@yale.edu

Sana Jamal (Islamic Studies / EMWAR): sana.jamal@yale.edu

Tianruo Jiang (EMWAR / Judaic Studies): tianruo.jiang@yale.edu

Jathan Martin (American Religious History / Religion & Modernity): jathan.martin@yale.edu

Alison Renna (Religion & Modernity): alison.renna@yale.edu